

2023 Results

Instrumental 31 May to 2 June

· · · Perpetual Trophies & Special Awards · · ·

City of Hobart Instrumental Recital Award \$750

- Awarded to the winner of section 890

Instrumental Concerto Award \$500

- Awarded to the winner of section 860

William Thorpe

Jan Sedivka Memorial Award \$300

- For the most outstanding string performer

William Thorpe

Celeste Thomsen (Quinn) Trophy and Memorial Award \$150

- For the most outstanding string performer aged 16 years & under

Samuel Hooper

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra's Friends Program Trophy

- For the best performance by a school-age group

Rock, Reuben & Zachary

Guitar Society of Hobart \$90 Award

For the most outstanding classical guitar player

Yuxin Ryan Gu

Elizabeth Parsons Award \$70 Award

For the most promising horn performer aged 15 years & over

Samantha Collins

Elizabeth Parsons Award \$30 Award

For the most promising horn performer aged 14 years & under

Camilla Stone

Australian Strings Association of Tasmania (AUSTA) \$75 Award

- For the most promising string ensemble

The Hutchins School Chamber Ensemble

AMEB Adjudicator's Choice Trophy

Henry Gell

Wednesday 31 May 2023 3:00pm

SECTION: 0570 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 2 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: TMTA State Branch

1st Alex Yuhuan Luo

2nd Clayton Low

HC Charlotte Bate

HC Yuxin Ryan Gu

SECTION: 0580 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 3 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: TMTA State Branch

1st Molly Xinran Ding

2nd Xinran Liao HC Sabrina Hu

SECTION: 0590 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 4 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Barbara Jane Gilby

1st Jedidiah Roy Menon2nd Jacob Kocharunchitt

HC Jonathon Liu

SECTION: 0750 15 & 16 Years String Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Australian Strings Association Tasmania (AUSTA)

1st Rock Yancheng Liu

Wednesday 31 May 2023 6:30pm

SECTION: 0790 16 Years & Under Instrumental Recital (Solo)

Sponsor: Edel Taylor

1st Reuben Allen

2nd Annabelle Dan-Marica

SECTION: 0820 17 & 18 Years String Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Sponsor Needed

1st William Thorpe2nd Gracie Middleton

SECTION: 0830 17 & 18 Years Wind or Brass Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Dawn Hendrick

1st Henry Gell

2nd Samantha Collins

SECTION: 1060 Open Chamber Ensemble

Sponsor: Sponsor Needed

1st Sarah Jack, Merran Clay, Lee Winson

2nd Saint-Saens Trio

HC Miffy, Rex and Jasmine

Thursday 1 June 2023 10:00am

SECTION: 0540 Equivalent to AMEB Pre-Preliminary Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Barbara Jane Gilby

1st Sophie Joseph

2nd Emma Bai

HC Haley Pierotti

HC Joyce Zhouyi Yuen

HC Onelie Tinaya Rajakarunadhipaathige

HC Saran Jastin

SECTION: 0550 Equivalent to AMEB Preliminary Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: 4 Business & Community

1st Esther Somi Reyes

2nd You you Wu

HC Emma Bai

HC Esther Mwarabu
HC Noah McGrath

HC Saran Jastin

HC Xuangi Zhu

SECTION: 0670 11 & 12 Years String Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Harp Society of Tasmania

1st Phillip Dan-Marica

2nd Houde Wang

HC Carina Shiyu Wu

SECTION: 0680 11 & 12 Years Wind or Brass Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Maureen Duffy

1st Camilla Stone2nd Lillian Joseph

SECTION: 1030 12 Years & Under Instrumental Ensemble

Sponsor: Cronin Family

1st Hilliard Christian School Guitar Quartet2nd Xiaorun Shi, Luoshi Li and Shiyu Wu

HC Lori Chen & XinYue Wang

SECTION: 1040 16 Years & Under Instrumental Ensemble

Sponsor: Dawn Hendrick, Diane Thomson

1st Taroona High Duet (R&K)

SECTION: 0600 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 5 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Maureen Duffy

1st Ruben Sweeney

2nd Grace Fu

HC Carina Shiyu Wu

HC Luoshi Li

HC Michael Zhang

HC Peter Runting Guo

SECTION: 0610 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 6 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Cronin Family, Phyllis Tai

1st Anna zi lin Wang

2nd Zoey Shi HC Grace Fu

SECTION: 0710 13 & 14 Years String Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Veronica Darby, Harp Society of Tasmania

1st Samuel Hooper

2nd Annabelle Dan-Marica

HC Kevin Liu

HC Sheng Hao Wong

SECTION: 0760 15 & 16 Years Wind or Brass Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Julie Raphael

1st Zachary Allen2nd Ruben SweeneyHC William Dunbabin

Thursday 1 June 2023 6:30pm

SECTION: 0850 Open Wind or Brass Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Amy Crosby, TMTA State Branch C/o Marita Crothers, Michelle Warren

1st Sacha Flores2nd Michael YoungHC Nathaniel Young

SECTION: 0860 Open Instrumental Concerto (Solo)

Sponsor: Butler McIntyre & Butler Lawyers, TSO's Friends Program

1st William Thorpe2nd Jamilla LambHC Aaron MolnarHC Thomas Geale

Friday 2 June 2023 10:00am

SECTION: 0560 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 1 Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Veronica Darby, Harp Society of Tasmania

1st Camilla Stone

2nd Olive Amelie Nielsen

HC Jamie Li

HC Max Erik Nielsen HC You you Wu HC Yuankun Wang SECTION: 0650 8 Years & Under Instrumental Performance (Solo) Sponsor: Diane Thomson Clayton Low 1st Zilu Yang 2nd HC Charlotte Bate HC Jamie Li 0660 9 & 10 Years Instrumental Performance (Solo) SECTION: Sponsor: Edel Taylor Zoey Shi 1st Jonathon Liu 2nd HC Luoshi Li HC Peter Runting Guo SECTION: 1035 14 Years & Under Instrumental Ensemble Sponsor: City of Hobart, Katherine Waterworth 1st Middle School Chamber Ensemble SECTION: 1050 18 Years & Under Instrumental Ensemble Sponsor: Barbara Jane Gilby, the fudge a'fare Rock, Reuben, Zachary 1st 2nd The Hutchins School Chamber Ensemble Friday 2 June 2023 2:00pm SECTION: 0620 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 7 Instrumental Performance (Solo) Sponsor: Sponsor Needed, 4 Business & Community Henry Gell 1st Kevin Liu 2nd HC Mae Parr HC Zoev Shi SECTION: 0630 Equivalent to AMEB Grade 8 Instrumental Performance (Solo) **Debbie Collins** 1st Samantha Collins Sheng Hao Wong 2nd HC Hwee-Lin Yee

SECTION: 0640 Equivalent to AMEB Diploma Instrumental Performance (Solo)

Sponsor: Lenah Valley Community Hall Trustees

1st William Thorpe
2nd Samuel Hooper
HC Rock Yancheng Liu
HC Zachary Allen

SECTION: 0770 16 Years & Under Instrumental Concerto (Solo)

Sponsor: Sponsor Needed, TSO Clarinet Section

1st Zachary Allen

SECTION: 0890 Open Instrumental Recital (Solo)
Sponsor: City of Hobart

William Thorpe 1st Jamilla Lamb 2nd НС Aaron Molnar HC Thomas Geale